Team UNILAG wins the spirit of shell eco-marathon award


In their usual style of not thinking outside the box, but rather, thinking as though there is no box, our students here at the University of Lagos have done the University proud again. At this year’s edition of the Shell Eco-Marathon, Team UNILAG comprising a total number of thirty-four (34) engineering and non-engineering students clinched the much-coveted Spirit of Shell Eco-Marathon Award (Europe Region).

Shell Eco-Marathon is a global academic programme conceived and promoted by Shell with a focus on energy optimisation. It is a competition which challenges talented and passionate students to design and build energy-efficient cars.

The Spirit of Shell Eco-Marathon Awards was launched to celebrate the real-life stories of Shell Eco-marathon teams. The Awards offered a platform on which teams showcased how collective passion, determination and team spirit enabled them to overcome the challenges of this unique year. Teams were also required to demonstrate verifiable authenticity and passionate energy for Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) and embody all that Shell Eco-Marathon stands for.

Upon successful entry into phase 3 of the 2020 Shell Eco-marathon on-track event which was eventually cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Team UNILAG qualified to apply for the awards. In its entry, the Team highlighted the creation of a student community of Energy efficiency and automobiles enthusiasts called the SEM Hub. At the Hub, the Team educated members about Shell Eco-marathon; energy efficiency, as well as organised energy-related discussion sessions with invited local and international industry experts.

READ ALSO: Erasmus Mundus Scholarship 2020/2021 – Fully Funded

Furthermore, Team UNILAG revealed that it had been working on a Solar Generator as a side project which had passed the design stage. Images and videos of the computer-aided design were shared with Shell Eco-marathon.

The assessment process was in 2 stages. In both stages, shortlisted teams were assessed based on 4 criteria: Perseverance, Creativity, Empathy and Innovation.

Out of the over 50 submissions from 28 different countries across the three Shell Eco-marathon regions (Europe, Asia, America) and after a month of rigorously deliberating over the nominations, Team UNILAG was announced as the winner for the Europe Region alongside the winners from the two other regions during a virtual Awards Ceremony held live on Instagram and Twitter on September 30, 2020. Click to watch the Awards Ceremony here.

The Team was coached and led to victory by a competent set of staff advisers who monitored and was with it every step of the way. The staff advisers include:

  1. Professor Ike Mowete
  2. Associate Professor Hakeem Amuda
  3. Engr. Hisham Mohammed
  4. Engr. Francis O. Okewole

The members of Team Unilag, comprising about 28 engineering and 6 non-engineering students of various disciplines, include:

 1.Fortune AdekogbeChemical and Petroleum EngineeringTeam Manager
 2.Fadil Ojifinni KayodeMechanical Engineering Mechanical Design
 3.Mary-Esther AneleLawQuality Control
 4.Oluwatobi AdewaleChemical and Petroleum EngineeringQuality Control
 5.Toluwalase OladipoLawQuality Control
 6.Akachukwu OfoegbuSurveying and Geoinformatics EngineeringPartnership and Finance
 7.Osemudiamen ItuaElectrical EngineeringElectrical
 8.Qowiyyu AdelajaElectrical EngineeringElectrical
 9.Oluchukwu NwabuikwuLawQuality Control (Lead)
 10.Sodiq ObagunMetallurgical and Materials EngineeringMaterials
 11.Chioma IbeakanmaSystems EngineeringCommunication
 12.Emmanuel AdeyemiMechanical Engineering Mechanical Fabrication
 13.Samuel AbiodunMetallurgical and Materials EngineeringCommunication
 14.Princess ObireIndustrial Relations and Personnel ManagementAdministrative Coordination
 15.Daniel ArikaweComputer EngineeringCommunication
 16.Oluchi NwaokorieCivil EngineeringMaterials
 17.Favour OluwadareCivil EngineeringMaterials
 18.Oluwalana AjayiMechanical Engineering Mechanical Design
 19.Harith OnigemoSystems EngineeringCommunication
 20.Douye TungbuluElectrical and Electronics EngineeringCommunication (Lead)
 21.Lukmon AbdulsalamMechanical Engineering Administrative Coordination
 22.Daniel AghahowaElectrical and Electronics EngineeringElectrical
 23.Efezino ElutabeMechanical Engineering Mechanical Design
 24.Favour AdekogbeElectrical and Electronics EngineeringElectrical
 25.Iteoluwakishi BabatundeElectrical and Electronics EngineeringElectrical (Lead)
 26.Abdul AdenikeHuman Kinetics and health educationPartnership and Finance (Lead)
 27.Samuel OnasanyaSystems Engineering Mechanical Design (Lead)
 28.Aminat YakubuMechanical Engineering Mechanical Fabrication (Lead)
 29.Abdulrahman AdebayoMetallurgical and Materials EngineeringMaterials (Lead)
 30.Michael OladegaSurveying and Geoinformatics EngineeringMechanical Fabrication
 31.Olaoluwayemi RasheedSystems EngineeringAdministrative Coordination (Lead)
 32.Okwesilieze UwadokaMechanical EngineeringMechanical Design
 33.Boluwatife OmotoroSystems EngineeringPartnership and Finance
 34.Elochukwu IgwiloCreative ArtsMechanical Design

It is important to acknowledge the previous Team Manager, Boluwatito Aiyepola, a 2018/2019 Chemical Engineering graduate of the University who handed over to Fortune Adekogbe. She led the team through the successful registration for the 2020 competition, and has been of tremendous help to the team, even after formally handing over at the end of July 2020.

The University Management on behalf of the University community heartily congratulates Team UNILAG on winning this award and wishes them more success ahead.


READ ASLO: UNILAG Pro-Chancellor, Babalakin fault panel and resigned

By Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.